SVQ Customer Service SCQF levels 4, 5, 6 and 8

The suite of Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) in Customer Service from SCQF level 4-8 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

The SVQs cover communicating in a customer service environment and delivering customer service within best practice guidelines, understanding of customer service and the rules that impact on improvements in customer service. Finally, the SVQ at SCQF level 8 goes on to cover following organisational rules, external regulations and legislation when managing customer service and handling referred customer complaints.

These qualifications have been designed in partnership and are jointly awarded with the Skills CFA Sector Skills Council to ensure relevance to the sector.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that NOS are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

These qualifications are available through employers, colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

These SVQs are offered in the workplace. As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Learners can progress to a range of qualifications including other Customer Service qualifications at higher SCQF levels or related awards etc.

Who does this qualification suit

These SVQs are suitable for:

  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • staff who are in direct contact with customers, including roles such as customer service relations officers and customer service team leaders


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence in the workplace.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake these qualifications.


The suite of SVQs in Customer Service could provide progression to:

  • an SVQ in Customer Service or related area at a higher SCQF level
  • employment in the customer service sector at a higher/promoted level, perhaps as a customer relations manager, customer service team leader
  • employment in a related area which demands good customer service, eg retail, hospitality, the financial sector 


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval

Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Ushare open learning resources

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ Customer Service at SCQF level 4 consists of two mandatory Units and three optional Units.

The SVQ Customer Service at SCQF level 5 consists of two mandatory Units and five optional Units.

The SVQ Customer Service at SCQF level 6 consists of two mandatory Units and five optional Units.

The SVQ Customer Service at SCQF level 8 consists of two mandatory Units and six optional Units.

For details of the units making up these SVQs and links to the units, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Modern Apprenticeships

SVQ 2 in Customer Service at SCQF level 5 is a mandatory component in Level 2 Modern Apprenticeship in Customer Service.

SVQ 3 in Customer Service at SCQF level 6 is a mandatory component in the Level 3 MA in Customer Service.

SQA also offers the following components of these Modern Apprenticeships which currently must be certificated separately:

Unit Title L2 MA in Customer Service SCQF 4 L3 MA in Customer Service SCQF 5
Core Skills: Communication F426 04 F427 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42A 04 F42B 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42E 04 F42F 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42J 04 F42K 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42N 04 F42P 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Assessor's guidelines

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio

Candidate Portfolios for 2016 Awards

Qualification Verification Summary Reports

Candidate Support Packs

To assist with knowledge requirements, SQA has produced support materials for the following mandatory Units of SVQ 2 in Customer Service and SVQ 3 in Customer Service:

H9YM 04 F1 Communicate in a Customer Service Environment

H9YX 04 F2 Deliver Customer Service within the Rules

H9YY 04 F3 Show Understanding of Customer Service

HA00 04 F4 Show Understanding of the Rules that Impact on Improvements in Customer Service

These are available from the SQA secure site and your centre's SQA Co-ordinator can assist you to access this material.

SQA has also developed an on-line question bank to assist centres assess the knowledge requirements of these mandatory Units. For further information on this resource, please contact the SOLAR support team.

SVQ Customer Service Network Event 2018

The SVQ Customer Service Network Event was held in Glasgow in February 2018. Please find the agenda, presentations and discussion group prompts below.