NPA Dance

NPA Dance

The National Progression Award (NPA) in Dance at SCQF level 5 (Intermediate 2) is an introductory qualification in Dance in which candidates explore choreography and gain an appreciation of dance skills and techniques. It allows candidates to develop knowledge, understanding and skills in choreography and two different styles of dance selected from the following: Classical, Contemporary, Jazz and Alternative. Students will also research and analyse dance styles and practitioners, putting their learning into context.

The award can be delivered in secondary schools, colleges and school/college partnerships, private dance schools or performing arts centres.

Why deliver this qualification

The NPA in Dance may be delivered flexibly on a part-time, stand-alone basis, or embedded within a broader programme of study.

It offers timetabling flexibility for schools, which suits modes of delivery for Curriculum for Excellence. Scotland’s colleges may deliver the NPA as part of an articulated pathway to NC and HN programmes of study.

Achievement of this qualification is nationally recognised.

Who does this qualification suit

This NPA may appeal to a wide range of candidates who have an interest in dance and the performing arts, including:

  • school pupils
  • college students
  • students from performing arts centres and private dance schools
  • adult learners/returners


Access to this award is at the discretion of the centre.


Candidates who achieve the NPA may progress to:

  • other NQ Dance Units
  • Higher Dance Practice
  • HNC/HND in Dance Artists
  • HNC/HND Contemporary Dance Performance
  • HNC/HND Professional Stage Dance

Successful completion of this NPA has the potential to enhance the employability profile of the candidate.


Schools and Colleges are auto-approved to deliver this qualification.

External Training Providers will have to come forward for approval and should contact the Business Development Team for guidance in completing the combined CA1/SA1 form.

How to assess

Assessment is through a variety of methods including performance, candidate logbooks, written analysis and oral presentation.

All Units in the NPA have an assessment support pack (ASP) which provides sample assessment material including an instrument of assessment, specified briefs and checklists. Centres wishing to develop their own assessments should refer to the ASPs to ensure a comparable standard. These ASPs can be downloaded from the NQGA section of SQA’s secure site.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification structure

Group Award code: GA7E 45 (18 SCQF credit points)
SCQF level: 5

Arrangements Documents - NPA Dance at SCQF level 5 (316 KB)


The NPA consists of one mandatory Unit and two optional Units. Each Unit can also be delivered be delivered on a free-standing basis.

Mandatory Unit

Dance: Choreography — FH5T 11

Optional Units

Dance: Alternative — FH5V 11
Dance: Classical — FH5W 11
Dance: Contemporary — FH5X 11
Dance: Jazz — FH5Y 11