PDA Practice Learning SCQF level 10

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Practice Learning at SCQF level 10 offers candidates the opportunity to develop the knowledge and skills that they will need to support or contribute to learning within the wider social services workforce and related professions.

The PDA covers areas such as supporting learning in a social services context, assessment of learners, leadership for learning, establishing effective working relationships, creating an environment for learning, supervising and facilitating learning, and evidence-based practice in social services.

The qualification is ideally suited to those who work in the field of social work, social care or allied professions. They will be able to offer constructive learner support and guidance through their contributions to the development and evaluation of learning opportunities and environments.

The qualification is available through colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

The PDA in Practice Learning (Social Services) at SCQF level 10 will be of particular value to candidates who deliver learning programmes, assess learning, apply models of supervision, are involved in quality assuring learning and development, and are involved in post-registration training and learning.

Who does this qualification suit

Candidates for the PDA in Practice Learning (Social Services) at SCQF level 10 should have well developed communication and interpersonal skills and be able to demonstrate their ability to critically review and consolidate knowledge, skills, practices and thinking in their disciplines. This may be demonstrated by relevant professional qualifications at SCQF level 9 (or equivalent) or above with relevant experience in a social services or other relevant setting.

All candidates should be able to provide evidence of their experience in the supporting of learning, eg buddying, supervising, mentoring, training, or teaching.

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.


Candidates who have successfully completed the PDA in Practice Learning at SCQF level 9 may be able to progress to the PDA in Practice Learning at SCQF level 10.


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GL21 50 (64 SCQF credit points)

The PDA in Practice Learning (Social Services) at SCQF level 10 consists of seven mandatory Units.

Group Award Specification