PDA Leadership and Management for Care Services SCQF level 9

The PDA in Leadership and Management for Care Services at SCQF level 9 is a revision and review of the PDA in Care Services Management  at SCQF level 8 (G83V 15) and its predecessor awards.

Following initial discussion and consultation with stakeholders it was decided the previous award required to be redesigned and updated to meet the needs of changing care services. In revising this award, we have been very conscious of the need to retain aspects of the previous award which had contributed to its success and relatively consistent uptake.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

The PDA in Leadership and Management for Care Services at SCQF level 9 has developed in partnership with employers and industry so it is suitable for the current sector.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It is hoped that this PDA or Units from it may also be seen as valid for incorporation into a range of leadership development programmes and make a contribution to the overall development of leadership and management standards in the wider sector.

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Centres are required to satisfy themselves that candidates have relevant qualifications, experience and a suitable job role to access this award.

There may be exceptional circumstances where candidates lack necessary practitioner qualifications but have considerable experience and are undertaking this award in conjunction with a relevant professional award to achieve registration requirements.


Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • appropriate groupings of National Units
  • any two National Qualifications at Higher together with three Standard Grade passes at 3 or above
  • an SVQ at Level 2 or 3 in a relevant area

The Units in the PDA have been mapped against the National Occupational Standards for Leadership and Management.

Centres interested in offering this qualification should come forward for approval and contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide (510 KB). The specific delivery requirements are set out in the Group Award Specification (Arrangements Document).

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each Unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice. The use of reports and projects is crucial to this.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Group Award code: GK2C 49 (64 SCQF credit points)

The PDA in Leadership and Management for Care Services at SCQF level 9 consists of 6 mandatory Units and 2 optional Units.