Design Principles for National Certificates

National Certificates will have the following features:

SCQF level and SCQF credit points

All component Units in a National Certificate will be allocated to a level appropriate to their position in the SCQF. The majority of the credit points must be at the level of the Group Award.

Mandatory Section

Core Skills

National Certificates should facilitate credited attainment of specific Core Skills if these are seen as critical to the aims of the Group Award. In this case they should appear within the mandatory section either as a discrete Unit or embedded within another Unit.

National Occupational Standards

National Courses