SVQ Aquaculture SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification Aquaculture at SCQF level 5 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification covers areas such as preparing and gathering live fish/shellfish, monitoring the aquatic environment for production of farmed fish/shellfish, monitoring fish/shellfish health and welfare, and working safely in an aquatic environment.

This qualification has been designed in partnership with the Sector Skills Council Lantra to ensure relevance to the sector.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that NOS are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through employers, training provider and colleges.

Why deliver this qualification

Successful candidates will gain an internationally-recognised qualification that guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully.  Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

The SVQ is offered in the workplace. Assessment is carried out in the workplace, which minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including SVQ 3 in Aquaculture or SVQ 4 in Aquaculture Management.

The achievement of other qualifications, such as NPA Aquaculture at SCQF Level 4 or SCQF Level 5, can contribute towards the successful completion of this award.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who have just left school
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience in/knowledge of subject would be an advantage.


The level 2 SVQ could provide progression to:

  • an HNC in Fish Farming or a related area
  • a PDA in Fish and Aquatic Science at SCQF level 7
  • an SVQ 3 in Aquaculture at SCQF level 7
  • degree level study at a higher education institution


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs.   For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Awards Code: GL1T 22

The SVQ Aquaculture at SCQF level 5 consists of 4 mandatory Units and 5 optional Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please see:

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Aquaculture Core Skills signposting Level 2 & 3 (692 KB)

Modern Apprenticeships

Unit Title SCQF 5
Core Skills: Communication F427 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42B 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42F 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42K 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42P 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Assessment strategy (226 KB)

Assessor's guidelines

Assessor's guidelines (523 KB)

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio