PDA Developing Professional Practice in Health and Social Care SCQF level 7

PDA Developing Professional Practice in Health and Social Care SCQF level 7

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Developing Professional Practice in Health and Social Care at SCQF level 7 will equip support workers with the knowledge, specialist skills and values to enable them to improve their professional practice. It is suitable for both hospital-based support workers and community-based support workers.

Communication and inter-professional working is central to this PDA, which offers a choice of Units across five different pathways.

This qualification is available through SQA-approved centres with relevant links to employers.

Why deliver this qualification

This qualification can be delivered in an accessible and flexible manner without any candidate being disadvantaged due to their geographical location or other structural factors.

It is suitable for centres with a widening access approach to recruiting candidates.

Who does this qualification suit

This qualification is suitable for people who currently work as a support worker in a relevant field such as maternity support, children and young person support, health care, mental health or learning disability support.

It is also relevant to to those who have completed the HNC Care and Administrative Practice, HNC Social Care, HNC Working with Communities, HNC Additional Support Needs or HNC Early Education and Child Care and who wish to pursue a career as a support worker.


There are no articulation agreements attached to this award. For those who wish to undertake further study it may be considered as an entry into a related course of study at college.


Centres interested in offering this qualification should come forward for approval and contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide (510 KB). The specific delivery requirements are set out in the Group Award Specification (Arrangements Document).

How to assess

The Units should be delivered in the sequence shown on page 24 of the Group Award Specification (607 KB). We recommend that the mandatory Unit 'Communication and Inter-professional Working in Care' is delivered first.

If a candidate has completed the HNC Care and Administrative Practice then they are exempt from the Communication and Inter-professional Working in Care Unit as they will have already completed its content whilst studying the HNC.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GJ1T 47

This qualification comprises 32 SCQF credit points at SQCF level 7 and consists of one mandatory Unit and two optional Units from one of five different pathways.

For further information on the structure and Units making up this qualification please refer to the Group Award Specification document.

Group Award Specification