SVQ Insurance SCQF level 8

The Scottish Vocational Qualification in Insurance at SCQF level 8 is a new work-based qualification that provides a new vocational route into the sector. The SVQ enables learners to demonstrate competence in job related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

Part of the Technical Apprenticeship in Insurance, this SVQ offers a blend of technical knowledge, wider competence and business skills that employers have indicated are need to enable apprentices to operate effectively and productively in an insurance environment.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). The NOS are defined by the Financial and Legal Skills Partnership (FLSP), which is the sector skills council for this sector.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

The SVQ in Insurance at SCQF level 8 can be offered within a workplace environment allowing learners to demonstrate their achievement of the qualification by collecting evidence naturally through their day-to-day work role. Learners will gain a recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

This SVQ is suitable for those currently employed in the insurance sector looking to enhance, develop or certificate their skills and experience.

Who does this qualification suit

The SVQ in Insurance is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school and taken up a Technical Apprenticeship in Insurance
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification. However, learners must be employed in a suitable position to allow them to generate the evidence for the qualification.

While entry is at the discretion of the centre, the SVQ4 in Insurance is a qualification at SCQF level 8, and, as such, learners should have a good standard of education (SCQF level 6 or above) or appropriate work experience.


The combination of the new SVQ 4 in Insurance and work experience will provide learners with a variety of opportunities to continue their career, for example:

  • in a more senior position in insurance
  • to study for a relevant professional qualification
  • or to study on a relevant degree programme


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Information for Assessment of Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs). For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Award Code: GJ2C 24

The SVQ Insurance at SCQF level 8 has two pathways — the Technician pathway and the Team Leader pathway — both pathways have 10 Units.

  • The Technician pathway consists of one mandatory Unit and nine optional Units.
  • The Team Leader pathway consists of two mandatory Units and eight optional Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure (163 KB)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

The FLSP has signposted the Core Skills to the Units within the SVQ. Please refer to Core Skills Signposting document.

The Core Skills are not a mandatory outcome of the Technical Apprenticeship and the information is intended to assist those employers and/or individuals also seeking to progress Core Skills.

SQA offers the following work-based Core Skills:

Unit Title SCQF 4 SCQF 5 SCQF 6
Core Skills: Communication F426 04 F427 04 F428 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42A 04 F42B 04 F42C 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42E 04 F42F 04 F42G 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42J 04 F42K 04 F42L 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42N 04 F42P 04 F42R 04

Technical Apprenticeships

This SVQ is a mandatory component in the Technical Apprenticeship in Insurance at Level 4 (SCQF level 8).

SQA also offers some of the Career Skills components of this Apprenticeship — full details of Career Skills are given in the Technical Apprenticeship documentation.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material