Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF)

What is the SCQF?

SCQF is a way of comparing Scottish qualifications. It covers achievements such as those from school, college, university, and many work-based qualifications. It does this by giving each qualification a level and a number of credit points. The level of a qualification shows how difficult the learning is. The credit points show how much learning is involved in achieving that qualification. Each credit point represents an average of 10 hours of learning.

SCQF can help:

Colleges and Universities use SCQF Levels

All Scottish universities and colleges use SCQF levels and credit points to describe their courses. A wide range of other learning is also recognised using SCQF levels and credits.

Qualifications cross boundaries

SCQF also illustrates the relationships between Scottish qualifications and those in the rest of the UK, Europe and beyond, which can clarify international progression routes and credit transfer. SCQF has been referenced to the European Qualifications Framework (EQF), so you can compare qualifications to European countries who have their own Qualifications Framework. For more information read the Qualifications Can Cross Boundaries Leaflet (804 KB)