SVQ Supply Chain Management SCQF level 9

This qualification replaces the SVQ in Supply Chain Management at SCQF level 8 (GK1A 24).

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) in Supply Chain Management at SCQF level 9 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

The mandatory units in this qualification cover relevant areas of importance within this industry at SCQF level 9 such as obtaining and analysing information on the performance of the supply chain and improving and developing operational relationships within the supply chain.

The optional units provide scope to specialise in areas such as planning the procurement of supplies, planning the transport of supplies and reviewing the outcomes of contracts.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards (NOS) are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Upon successful completion, learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace which minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Completion of this qualification allows candidates the opportunity to progress to more advanced levels within the SCQF.

The SVQ can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employees who wish to obtain short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow them to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience in/knowledge of the subject would be an advantage.


The level 9 award could provide progression to:

  • an SVQ in Supply Chain Management at SCQF level 11
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in a wide range of sectors


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs.   For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ in Supply Chain Management at SCQF level 9 consists of four mandatory units and four optional units.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the qualification structure (86 KB).

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Modern Apprenticeships

It is expected this SVQ will form part of the updated level 9 Supply Chain Management Technical Apprenticeship.

SQA also offers a wide range of pan-sector SVQ units at SCQF 7 and above.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material