PDA Hospitality SCQF level 7

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards. The PDA in Hospitality at SCQF level 7 supports continuing professional development for individuals who hold, or aspire to hold, team leading or supervisory roles within the hospitality industry.

The PDA covers areas such as hospitality supervision which helps to develop the knowledge and skills required to train and lead people to deliver a hospitality service. It also includes optional units in financial and control systems, food and beverage operations, accommodation operations, conferences, kitchen operations and food hygiene — allowing learners to select options that reflect their own career aspirations.

This qualification is available through colleges and training providers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of practical activities delivered in a range of hospitality contexts (eg food and beverage operations, accommodation operations), classroom-based lessons covering theory and underpinning knowledge, and self-directed study.

The PDA in Hospitality at SCQF level 7 has been developed in partnership with employers and industry.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 40 hours of learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This PDA provides progression routes to further study.

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Learners do not need to have formal relevant qualifications to enter this PDA. However, good communication skills — both oral and written — are required. In addition, learners would benefit from having attained skills, knowledge and understanding required by one or more of the following or equivalent qualifications and/or experience:

  • current or prior experience working in the hospitality industry at team leader/supervisor level
  • relevant SVQ at SCQF level 5 or above, for example an SVQ in Hospitality Services at SCQF level 5
  • National Certificate in Hospitality Operations at SCQF level 5
  • different combinations of relevant national or vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies

The units in the PDA have been mapped against the National Occupational Standards for Hospitality.

Learners would have the opportunity of progressing to other qualifications in Hospitality or related subjects at SCQF level 7.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice.

Assessment Support Packs are available for the units in this qualification.

Qualifications structure

Group award code: GR1H 47 (48 SCQF credit points)


The PDA in Hospitality at SCQF level 7 consists of 1 mandatory unit (16 SCQF credit points) and 2-4 units from the options section (32 SCQF credit points).