PDA Gaelic Media SCQF level 8

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards. The PDA in Gaelic Media at SCQF level 8 covers the practical and creative skills required in television programme production.

This PDA in Gaelic Media covers areas such as:

  • communication in Gaelic: advanced operational writing and speaking skills
  • television scripting: factual programmes
  • journalism skills: introduction to industry and practice, television planning and production, analysing and producing radio programmes
  • internet: web development
  • work placement and preparation for employment in the Gaelic creative industries
  • a creative project
  • European media analysis and investigation

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

The PDA in Gaelic Media at SCQF level 8 has been developed in partnership with employers and industry.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 40 hours of learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Learners will be expected to have prior advanced qualifications such as a university degree, HNC or HND.  It will be highly beneficial for learners to have previous qualifications in Gaelic.

Candidates who successfully complete the PDA in Gaelic Media will be qualified for entry to the Gaelic broadcast industry.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each unit is assessed separately.

Group award code: GL82 48 (224 SCQF credit points)

The PDA in Gaelic Media at SCQF level 8 consists of 14 mandatory units.