Diploma Sea Fishing SCQF level 5

The Diploma in Sea Fishing at SCQF level 5 provides learners with a qualification that will demonstrate their aptitude in this area. This Diploma will develop the learner's confidence and awareness of the skills that they have acquired which they can use for employment and/or further study.

This qualification covers areas such as maritime employment, environmental and health and safety practice, maritime sector overview; vessel ropework, anchoring and mooring operations, vessel construction and stability, survival in the water during maritime emergencies, operate and maintain fishing gear, receiving, handling and stowing the catch on a fishing vessel; communicating using equipment and visual means, basic navigational watchkeeping, vessel fire prevention and fire fighting (STCW), maritime fire prevention and fire actions.

This qualification is available through employers, colleges and training providers.

Supported by the Scottish Government, this competence-based qualification is part of the Maritime Occupations Modern Apprenticeship framework.

Enables the learner to demonstrate both underpinning knowledge and performance evidence of competence in a Maritime vocational area.

This qualification is based on the most current version of National Occupational Standards, defined by Standard Setting Body (SSB) Maritime Skills Alliance.

The evidence demonstrating achievement of the qualification can be assessed within a workplace environment or, where simulation is used, within a realistic working environment.

This Diploma is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for some time
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.


This Diploma is a mandatory component in the SCQF Level 5 Modern Apprenticeship.

SQA also offers the following components of this Apprenticeship:

Unit title SCQF 4
Core Skills: Communication F426 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42A 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42E 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42J 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42N 04

The level 5 award could provide progression to:

  • an HNC/HND in Maritime or a related area
  • employment in the Maritime sector, perhaps as a skipper of a vessel of less than 16.5 metres in length.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

The Diploma is designed to be assessed in the workplace, or in conditions of the workplace. Assessment Guidelines and Units are available on SQA's website.

Occupational skills units must be assessed on the basis of evidence that the tasks have been undertaken satisfactorily in the workplace or an acceptable simulation.

The use of a Training Record Book (TRB) forms part of the assessment. The completed TRB will be used as supporting evidence to demonstrate that the work-based elements of the units have been undertaken.

Group Award Code: GM9F 45

The Diploma in Maritime Studies at SCQF level 5 consists of 12 mandatory Units and 1 optional Unit. Please refer to the Qualification Structure for details on the Units making up this qualification.

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Accredited Qualification Unit Search.