PDA Professional Pastry SCQF level 7

PDA Professional Pastry SCQF level 7

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards. The PDA in Professional Pastry at SCQF level 7 is a practical qualification that supports the continuing professional development of individuals who work in the pastry section of professional kitchens.

This qualification covers areas such as:

  • high level professional culinary skills
  • sustainable working practices
  • knowledge, understanding and practice of food safety principles
  • specialist craft skills in, for example, preparation of commodities, dish creation, sugar and chocolate craft, and production of breads and pastries

This qualification is available through colleges and training providers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of practical activities delivered in training or production kitchens, with classroom-based lessons covering theory/underpinning knowledge, and self-directed study.

Why deliver this qualification

The PDA in Professional Pastry at SCQF level 7 has developed in partnership with employers and industry. It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 40 hours of learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This PDA provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Learners do not need to have formal relevant qualifications to enter this PDA. However, good communication skills — both oral and written — are required. In addition, learners would benefit from having attained skills, knowledge and understanding required by one or more of the following or equivalent qualifications and/or experience:

  • current or prior experience as a chef/pastry chef in a professional kitchen (centres may wish to apply a diagnostic practical skills test to establish the current level of skill of learners)
  • relevant SVQ at SCQF level 5 and above, for example an SVQ in Professional Cookery at SCQF level 5/6
  • National Certificate in Professional Cookery at SCQF levels 5 or 6
  • different combinations of relevant national or vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies


The units in the PDA have been mapped against the National Occupational Standards for Professional Cookery (Patisserie and Confectionery).

Learners would have the opportunity of progressing to a full HN qualification in Professional Cookery at SCQF level 7 or 8.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice. The use of reports and projects is crucial to this.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools


Qualification Structure

Group award code: GR1Y 47 (48 SCQF credit points)


The PDA in Professional Pastry at SCQF level 7 consists of 2 mandatory units (32 SCQF credit points) and 1-2 units from the options section (16 SCQF credit points).

Group Award Specification


This group award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The finishing date for this qualification is 31/07/2023.

Centres should note that when a group award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • The group award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue.
  • The group award arrangements document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed from the SQA website and archived.
  • No new centres may be approved to offer the group award.
  • Centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the group award during the defined lapsing period of three years (HNC) and four years (HND).
  • Centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the group award during the defined lapsing period of three years.
  • Centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the group award during the defined lapsing period of three years.

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GL2X47 (48 SCQF credit points)

To achieve the PDA in Professional Patisserie at SCQF level 7 candidates must complete 6 SQA credits in total: 2 SQA credits from the mandatory units, 2-4 SQA credits from a grouping of limited optional units and a further 2-4 SQA credits from the optional units.

Group Award Specification