SQA Advanced Certificate Occupational Therapy Support

SQA Advanced Certificate and SQA Advanced Diploma qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Occupational Therapy Support at SCQF level 7 consists of nine mandatory units (96 SCQF credit points) and covers areas of occupational therapy such as context and development, psychology and human development and quality improvement.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates and SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities, and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

The SQA Advanced Certificate/Diploma provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Occupational Therapy Support is appropriate for all occupational therapy support staff across all areas where occupational therapy is practised. It is being increasingly used to provide evidence of capability and competence. It is suitable for:

  • school leavers
  • adults returning to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to Level 3/SCQF level 6 meaning the student can study at the higher level
  • a centre-devised test which shows the student’s ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


On completion of the SQA Advanced Certificate in Occupational Therapy Support, candidates can progress to degree-level study.

Offer this qualification

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply. 

Qualification structure

Group Award code: GT2W 47 (96 SCQF credit points)

Unit title Credit SCQF level SCQF credit points
Occupational Therapy: Context and Development* 1 7 8
Occupational Therapy: Needs and Rights* 1 7 8
Occupational Therapy: Policies, Procedures and Professional Standards* 1 7 8
Occupational Therapy: Aspects of Sociology 1 7 8
Occupational Therapy: Anatomy and Physiology 2 7 16
Occupational Therapy: Psychology and Human Development# 2 7 16
Occupational Therapy: Philosophy, Theory and Practice* 2 7 16
Occupational Therapy: Quality Improvement Audit* 1 7 8
Occupational Therapy Support: Graded Unit 1 1 7 8

Group award specification

Unit Specifications