PDA Management SCQF level 6

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards.

The PDA in Management (SCQF level 6) covers areas such as managing self and resources and working as a team.

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Management at SCQF level 6 delivers the essential skills and knowledge for a range of management roles and applies them to a relevant work context.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges, training providers and universities around the world.

Professional Development Awards (PDA) have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

The PDA provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

The PDA in Management (SCQF level 6) will be of particular value to candidates who are in posts that involve some management responsibility and those who anticipate that they will take up such roles.

The PDA in Management is suitable for candidates who would normally be in a situation where they have, or expect to have in the future, some management responsibility over a team. It could also suit adult returners to education or candidates in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects.

Entry requirements

There are no specific recommended entry requirements for the award of PDA in Management at SCQF level 6. Entry to the programme will be at the discretion of the centre. Candidates would normally be in a situation where they expect to undertake some management responsibility within a team in the future or where they already have some such experience.

The PDA in Management (SCQF level 6) may allow the holder progress to other SQA PDAs in Management.

Appropriate job roles for those achieving the PDA in Management at SCQF level 6 include:

  • operational support services manager
  • contract supervisor
  • office manager
  • team leader
  • project manager
  • crew manager
  • domestic services manager
  • catering manager
  • first level management
  • lower-middle level management
  • administrator looking for promotion

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will need to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

PDA in Management (SCQF level 6)

Group Award code: GT28 46 (16 SCQF credit points)

PDA in Management at SCQF level 6 consists of two mandatory units.

For further information on the structures and units of these qualifications please refer to the Group Award Specification document

GT2846 (279 KB)