SQA Advanced Certificate Poultry Production

SQA Advanced Certificate qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Poultry Production (SCQF level 7) gives an understanding not only of production techniques and technologies, but a general knowledge of the scientific and business principles that underpin the industry. It also gives a general knowledge of the environmental context in which the sector operates.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges, training providers and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Certificate takes one year to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates and SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

The SQA Advanced Certificate provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Poultry Production is suitable for a wide range of candidates, including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to SCQF level 6, meaning the learner has the ability to study at a higher level
  • a centre-devised test which shows the learner’s ability to study at SQA Advanced Certificate level
  • relevant work experience

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical and occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Certificate in Poultry Production

Group Award code: GN25 47 (96 SCQF credit points)

SQA Advanced Certificate in Poultry Production at SCQF level 7 consists of 12 mandatory units.

For further information on the structure and units of this qualification, please refer to the Group Award Specification document.

Group award specification

Unit Specifications