HNC/HND Contemporary Art Practice

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry ¿ so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexibility. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HN provides progression routes to further study within the creative industries (see Progression).

The HNC Contemporary Art Practice is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • people who wish to start their own business

Progression and employment

Learners who achieve an HNC Contemporary Art Practice can progress to the HND in Contemporary Art Practice (GP94 16).

HNCs and HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study.

What you'll learn?

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • appropriate groupings of National Units
  • an SVQ at Level 2 or 3 in a relevant area
  • relevant work experience

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Qualification content and delivery tools


Group award code: GR89 15 (96 SCQF credit points)

HNC Contemporary Art Practice at SCQF level 7 consists of six mandatory units (72 SCQF credit points) and three optional units (24 SCQF credit points).


HND Contemporary Art Practice (G8K5 16)

This group award has been replaced. It entered its lapsing period on: 31/07/2020 and it finishes on 31/07/2024.