PDA Management SCQF level 6

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Management at SCQF level 6 delivers the essential skills and knowledge for a range of management roles and applies them to a relevant work context. Candidates undertaking the PDA will probably be in, or aspiring to, roles with limited managerial responsibility. The Chartered Management Institute (CMI) has agreed in to jointly certificate this PDA in Management at SCQF level 6, together with the other PDAs in Management in SQA's portfolio.

This qualification is available through colleges and training providers.

The PDA in Management at SCQF level 6 will be of particular value to candidates who are in posts which have some management responsibility and those who anticipate that they will take up such roles.

The PDA in Management is suitable for candidates who would normally be in a situation where they have, or expect to have in the future, some management responsibility over a team. It could also suit adult returners to education or candidates in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. It would, however, be beneficial if candidates had good written and oral communication skills. There are no specific recommended entry requirements for the PDA in Management.

A range of appropriate job roles for those achieving the PDA in Management at SCQF level 6 include:

  • Operational Support Services Manager
  • Contract Supervisor
  • Office Manager
  • Team leader
  • Project Manager
  • Crew Manager
  • Domestic Services Manager
  • Catering Manager
  • First level management
  • Lower-middle level management
  • Administrator looking for promotion

The PDA in Management at level 6 is jointly certificated by SQA and the Chartered Management Institute. Successful candidates therefore gain membership of CMI which means that they can become part of the professional community of managers and can benefit from development opportunities that this can bring.

Progression to HNC Management at SCQF level 7, other PDAs in Management, the SVQ 2 in Team Leading at SCQF level 5, or the SVQ 3 in Management at SCQF level 5.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Ongoing Course assessment will apply. Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Group Award code: G972 46 (16 SCQF credit points)
SCQF level: 6

The PDA in Management consists of two mandatory Units.

Mandatory Units

Managing Self and Resources — F3XP 33
Working in a Team — F3XR 33

For candidates where English is not their first language it is recommended that they possess English for Speakers of other Languages (ESOL) level 5 or a score of 5.5 in IELTS.

Good support materials available on SQA Academy for both Units.

There are interactive support materials for both Units of this PDA on SQA Academy. These can be found on SQA secure site, via your SQA coordinator, on page 'Support Materials for HNC, Diploma and PDAs in Management and Leadership'.