PDA Managing Self and Others SCQF level 8

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Managing Self and Others at SCQF level 8 focuses on two of the main areas of managerial competence: managing yourself and managing others. The PDA enables candidates to develop and achieve the general competences which underpin all aspects of management.

The qualification is available through colleges and training providers.

The PDA in Managing Self and Others at SCQF level 8:

  • is nationally recognised
  • can be achieved at work
  • has no formal entry requirements
  • provides recognition of managing other people
  • enables progression within the Management HN and SVQ/NVQ framework
  • enhances career prospects

The PDA in Managing Self and Others at SCQF level 8 is intended for managers who wish to develop competence in personal and self-development within an operational management context.


Access to the award will be at the discretion of the centre. There should be no barriers to entry and the award should be open to all candidates who have a reasonable chance of achieving it.

It would however, be beneficial if candidates had some relevant work experience, preferably in a managerial role. It would be beneficial also if candidates had good written and oral communications skills and could demonstrate prior achievement at SCQF level 7.

The PDA is jointly certificated by SQA and the Chartered Management Institute (CMI). Successful candidates can gain membership of CMI which means that they can become part of the professional community of managers and can benefit from the development opportunities that this can bring.

Candidates who successfully complete this PDA will have gained one Unit towards the HNC/Diploma in Management.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

The qualification consists of two practical Units and has been developed to suit candidates who are employed. Candidates will be supported by a qualified assessor and can work through their qualification at their own pace. However, it is likely that assessment plans between assessor and candidate will agree target dates for completion of specific parts of each Unit.

Group Award code: G9CT 48 (24 SCQF credit points)
SCQF level: 8


The PDA in Managing Self and Others at SCQF level 8 consists of two mandatory Units:

Developing Skills for Personal Effectiveness — DF4F 35
Managing People — F5GF 35