SVQ Agriculture SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) in Agriculture at SCQF level 5 provides learners with the knowledge and skills that they need for agricultural work with either crops or livestock.

The SVQ covers areas such as monitoring and maintaining health, safety and security; developing an awareness of environmental good practice; and how to manage and improve your own performance in a business environment.

It also includes optional units such as preparing and operating a tractor; preparing feed and water supplies for livestock; and monitoring and maintaining the healthy growth of crops.

This qualification has been designed in partnership/jointly awarded with the Lantra Sector Skills Council to ensure relevance to the sector.

Learners will develop the skills they need for employment and/or further study, allowing them to be more proficient in their role within the agricultural industries.

Why deliver this qualification

Upon successful completion, learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

As assessment is carried out in the workplace, this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including an HNC or HND in Agriculture.

The SVQ can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning

The achievement of other qualifications, such as NC Agriculture, can contribute towards the successful completion of this award.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employees who wish to obtain short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow them to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.


The SCQF level 5 award could provide progression to:

  • an HNC/HND in Agriculture or a related area
  • an SVQ in Mixed Farming at SCQF level 6
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in the agriculture sector


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the assessment strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ Agriculture at SCQF level 5 consists of five mandatory units and seven optional units.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the qualification structure (128 KB).

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Modern Apprenticeships

This SVQ is a mandatory component in the Level 5 Modern Apprenticeship.

SQA also offers the following components of this Apprenticeship: GN0T 46 Award in Emergency First Aid at Work at SCQF Level 6.

Unit Title Code
Core Skills: Communication F426 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42A 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42E 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42J 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42N 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio

Qualification Verification Summary Reports