NC Computer Games: Creative Development

NC Computer Games: Creative Development

National Certificates (NCs) are practical qualifications designed to equip learners with the knowledge and skills (including Core Skills) required for further study or to gain employment.

The NC in Computer Games: Creative Development at SCQF level 6 develops knowledge and understanding of the computer games industry and of the requirements of game developers and develops practical, technical and transferable skills.

National Certificates (NCs) are designed for full-time delivery over one year (or part-time over two years) and are available through schools, colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

NCs bridge the progression gap from school attainment to HN and other study. They are suitable for school leavers and those seeking a route back into study at non-advanced level. They are trusted qualifications having been developed by practitioners with the support of the Sector Skills Councils.

The NC in Computer Games: Creative Development is straightforward to deliver and slots readily into college timetables.

It can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning
  • infill into existing classes
  • evening provision
  • January start, ‘Access to HN Course’

National Certificates have e-assessment and e-learning options — improving flexibility and enabling time and cost savings.

Successful completion of this NC would enable a candidate to progress to an HN Course or to employment.

National Certificates include opportunities for learners to develop Core Skills.

The achievement of the NPA in Computer Games Development at SCQF level 6 contributes towards the successful completion of this award.

Who does this qualification suit

This NC is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • learners looking to progress to an HNC/HND
  • candidates in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • individuals who wish to work freelance in the computer games industry


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience in computing subjects and an interest in programming and/or art and design in a computing context would be an advantage.

Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • NC in Computer Games Development at SCQF level 5
  • NPA in Computer Games Development at SCQF levels 5 or 6
  • Core Skills at SCQF level 5
  • relevant work experience


The NC in Computer Games: Creative Development may provide progression opportunities to:

  • SCQF level 7
  • an HNC/HND in Computer Games or computing related areas
  • degree-level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in the computer games and creative industries sectors


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Assessment of this NC is through a series of theoretical and practical assessments or tasks. Some assessments will be carried out under supervised open-book conditions.

Assessment Support Packs (ASPs) are available for selected Units and can be found on SQA’s secure website.

There are opportunities to combine the delivery and assessment of various Units. Full details of approaches to delivery and assessment are given in the Arrangements document.

Qualification content and delivery tools


Group Award code: GG44 46 (72 SCQF credit points)
SCQF level: 6

The National Certificate in Computer Games: Creative Development at SCQF level 6 consists of six mandatory Units (42 SCQF credit points) and five optional Units (30 SCQF credit points).

For further information on the structure and Units for this qualification, please refer to the Group Award Specification document.

Group Award Specification

Return to NQGA Computing, IT and Related Areas subject page