SVQ 4 in Occupational Health and Safety Practice at SCQF level 9

SVQ 4 in Occupational Health and Safety Practice at SCQF level 9

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) 4 in Occupational Health and Safety Practice at SCQF level 9 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification covers areas such as promoting a positive health and safety culture, effective communication systems and policy for health and safety information, developing and maintaining individual and organisational competence as well as controlling risks and reviewing proactive and reactive monitoring systems for health and safety. It also covers developing and implementing emergency response, reviewing systems and procedures, and influencing and keeping pace with improvements in health and safety practice.

This qualification has been designed in partnership with Proskills, the sector skills council, to ensure relevance to the sector.

This qualification is available through a range of organisations including employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

The SVQ 4 in Occupational Health and Safety at SCQF level 9 is a re-accredited qualification which replaces the previous Group Award — the SVQ Occupational Health and Safety at level 4, Group Award Code G92C 24.

Learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully.  Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

The SVQ is offered in the workplace. As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including SVQ 5 in Management of Health and Safety.

The achievement of other qualifications such as SVQ 3 in Occupational Health and Safety at SCQF level 7 can contribute towards the successful completion of this award.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • individuals who have achieved the SVQ 3 in Occupational Health and Safety at SCQF level 7 or its predecessor SVQs
  • individuals who are currently in employment as health and safety officers and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow them to gather the required evidence.

It is expected that candidates for this advanced SVQ will have relevant experience in health and safety practice.

Although it is not an entry requirement, achievement of SVQ 3 in Occupational Health and Safety or a relevant equivalent occupational qualification would be beneficial.


This SCQF level 9 award could provide progression to:

  • an SVQ 5 in Management of Health and Safety  
  • degree level study in a related field at a higher education institution
  • employment in the health and safety sector, perhaps as a health and safety officer in a supervisor/management role


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs.   For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ in Occupational Health and Safety at SCQF level 9 consists of 10 mandatory Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material