SVQ Environmental Conservation SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification in Environmental Conservation at SCQF level 5 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job related skills in their particular area of work and expertise. Areas covered include monitoring and maintaining health, safety and security, establishing and maintaining working relationships with others, developing an awareness of environmental good practice, and promoting responsible public use of outdoor sites.

This qualification has been designed in partnership with Lantra the Sector Skills Council to ensure relevance to the sector.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards (NOS) are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

The SVQ 2 Environmental Conservation at SCQF level 5 is a re-accredited qualification.

Upon successful completion, learners will gain an international recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully.  Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

The SVQ is offered in the workplace. As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work. In the context of Environmental Conservation the workplace could include a voluntary placement.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including SVQ 3 Environmental Conservation or HND Countryside Management.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • individuals who are currently in employment (or working as a volunteer) and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employees (or volunteers) who wish to obtain short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.


The level 5 award could provide progression to:

  • an HNC/HND in Countryside Management or a related area
  • a PDA in Ecological Surveying at SCQF Level 7
  • an SVQ 3 in Environmental Conservation  at SCQF level 7
  • degree level study at a higher education institution


Specific subject expertise is required to deliver this qualification which is detailed in the Assessment Strategy. To gain approval for this qualification centres should complete and submit a Qualification Approval Application Form. The Business Development Team can provide guidance in completing this form.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements as outlined in the guide to approval.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Award Code: GL0L 23

The SVQ Environmental Conservation at SCQF level 5 consists of 5 mandatory Units and 3 optional Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Awarding partnership arrangements

This qualification has been designed in partnership with Lantra the Sector Skills Council to ensure relevance to the sector.

Modern Apprenticeships

This SVQ is a mandatory component in the Level 3 Modern Apprenticeship in Rural Skills at SCQF Level 6 and 7.

Unit Title SCQF 5
Core Skills: Communication F427 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42B 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42F 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42K 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42P 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Useful links