Freestanding Dance units

The following freestanding units were previously part of a course.

Please note these units no longer contribute to the achievement of a National Course. 

SCQF level 5

SCQF level 6

Deliver these units

Centres need to apply for approval before delivering these units for the first time and consider the resources they have to do this.

To deliver these units in the next academic session (so candidates can be certificated in August the following year) centres must apply for approval by the end of September (for example, approval applications must be submitted by September 2024 to deliver and certificate by August 2025).

Subject-specific requirements for the course

When applying for approval, centres must demonstrate that teachers and lecturers delivering/assessing Dance have completed at least two years' successful study of dance to a minimum of Higher National Diploma (HND) level (SCQF level 8) or have extensive knowledge in dance, which can be supported by vocational and teaching qualifications through accredited dance awarding bodies. It would also be beneficial if staff have, or are working towards, assessor qualifications, or are GTC registered.

Find out about our approval process.

Unit assessment support packages (UASPs) for freestanding units

UASPs are available on SQA's secure website. Please contact your SQA co-ordinator to access them. Multiple packs are available at each level, and each pack contains:

  • unit assessment tasks
  • approaches to gathering evidence
  • judging evidence against outcomes and assessment standards.

Alongside further information on the particular unit(s).