SQA Advanced Certificate in Hospitality

SQA Advanced Certificate in Hospitality

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Hospitality provides theoretical knowledge that meets the requirements of employers recruiting for the hospitality industry.

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Hospitality (SCQF level 7) develops a general knowledge of the hospitality industry, food and beverage services, the supervisory function, financial and control systems, and food hygiene.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world.

Typically an SQA Advanced Certificate takes one year to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Hospitality is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to RQF level 3 or SCQF level 6
  • a centre-devised test which shows the student’s ability to study at SQA Advanced Certificate level
  • relevant work experience


Candidates can progress from the SQA Advanced Certificate in Hospitality to the SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management can provide advanced entry to degree-level study. For further information please refer to the SQA university agreements.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM8P 47 (96 SCQF credit points)

The Advanced Certificate in Hospitality consists of six mandatory units (64 SCQF points at SCQF level 7). There are also optional units which contribute a minimum of 32 SCQF credit points (4 SQA credits).

Learners must achieve 96 SCQF credit points (12 SQA credits) to gain this qualification.

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the arrangements document.


For further information on the structure please see the arrangements document - GM8P 47. (794 KB)

Unit specifications