SQA Advanced Diploma Hospitality Management

SQA Advanced Diploma qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management at SCQF level 8 builds on the knowledge and skills of the Advanced Certificate in Hospitality Operations and covers more managerial-level topics including finance, accommodation management, managing food and beverage operations, and managing human resources in a hospitality context. It also includes a period of practical work experience.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges, training providers and universities around the world.

Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years.

Alternative assessment guidance 2023-24

This subject will not have alternative assessment guidance for session 2023-24. You should refer to the Group Award/Unit specifications for detailed delivery and assessment information. For general support on delivery and assessment see the HNVQ assessment guidance 2023-24.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diploma have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management provides progression routes to further study and employment (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to SCQF level 6/RQF level 3 meaning the student has the ability to study at the higher level
  • a centre devised test which shows the student's ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management can provide advanced entry to degree-level study.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.


How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification content and delivery tools


Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management at SCQF level 8

Group award code: GR3H 48 (24 SCQF credit points)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 16 mandatory units (168 SCQF credit points) and a number of optional units (72 SCQF points).

For further information on the structures and units of this qualification please refer to the group award specification document.

Group award specification

Unit Specifications


This group award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The lapsing date for this qualification is 31/07/2020

The finishing date for this qualification is 31/07/2024

Centres should note that when a group award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • the group award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue
  •  the group award arrangements document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed form SQA website and archived
  •  no new centres may be approved to offer the group award
  • centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the group award during the defined lapsing period of three years (Certificate) and four years (Diploma)

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM8W 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

This SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management consists of 15 mandatory units (176 SCQF credit points) and limited option sections which contribute a minimum of 16 SCQF points. A further 24-64 SCQF points are required from the optional unit groupings, depending on the units selected in the limited option groupings.

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the arrangements document.


For further information on the structure for this course please see the arrangements document - GM8W 48. (794 KB)

Unit Specifications