SQA Advanced Certificate Computing

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Computing (SCQF level 7) is designed to offer learners academic and technician training leading to the skills necessary to design, implement and support IT systems in many industries.

The qualification covers a range of contemporary vocational skills (eg technical computing skills) relating to the use and support of IT systems.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Certificate takes one year to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Computing is suitable for a wide range of learners including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business 


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • National Certificate in Digital Media Computing at SCQF level 5 or level 6 or a combination of both
  • Any two relevant National Courses at Higher together with three National Qualifications at SCQF level 5
  • relevant work experience
  • equivalent overseas qualifications which are relevant to the award


The SQA Advanced Certificate in Computing will lead to a variety of employment opportunities such as in an IT/Computing-related post at technician level (technical support position or junior software development role).

Learners can progress from the SQA Advanced Certificate in Computing to the SQA Advanced Diplomas in Computer Science, Computing: Software Development, Computing: Technical Support, and Computing: Networking.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance. 

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM8K 47 (96 SCQF credit points)

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the group award specification.

Group award specification

For further information on the structure and Units for this course please refer to the Group Award Specification - GM8K 47 (668 KB).

Unit Specifications