SQA Advanced Diploma Computing: Networking (Fixed Framework)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking provides learners with a progression route into employment. It also provides opportunities for further study, including university degree programmes.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking (SCQF level 8) provides current insight and skills to the main aspects of contemporary networking technologies. Recent developments in the field of ICT are having a major impact on businesses and business processes. Cloud computing is an example of a technology trend emerging from the congruence of developments such as real-time infrastructure (RTI), virtualisation, browsers and web 2.0. The SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking has been designed to reflect these changes with the introduction of a number of new units designed to equip the learner with a fundamental knowledge and understanding of these technologies.

It covers all the fundamental aspects of computer networking and internet technology — including routing and switching technology, local area networks infrastructure and maintenance. It also includes professionalism, ethics and team working in computing.

SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world.

Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business
  • those who wish to pursue a career in the travel or tourism industries


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to RQF level 3 or SCQF level 6
  • a centre-devised test which shows the learner’s ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking can provide advanced entry to degree-level study or a masters degree programme. For further information please refer to the SQA university agreements

Offer this qualification

Centres that wish to come forward for approval should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide

Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM59 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Computing: Networking at SCQF level 8 consists of 21 mandatory units.

Course tutor guide (including course framework)

For further information on the structure and units for this course please refer to the Course Tutor Guide - GM59 48 (767 KB)

Unit Specifications