SQA Advanced Diploma Hospitality Management (Fixed Framework)

SQA Advanced Diploma qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

Set in a global context, the Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management provides students with an understanding of all aspects of the hospitality industry, including management of food and beverage operations, accommodation management, front office procedures, front office sales management, gastronomy, kitchen planning and design, business accounting, human resource management, financial control systems and management of resources.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges, training providers and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years to complete.

Alternative assessment guidance 2023-24

This subject will not have alternative assessment guidance for session 2023-24. You should refer to the Group Award/Unit specifications for detailed delivery and assessment information. For general support on delivery and assessment see the HNVQ assessment guidance 2023-24.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

The SQA Advanced Diploma provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to SCQF level 6/RQF level 3 meaning the student has the ability to study at the higher level
  • a centre-devised test which shows the student's ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management can provide advanced entry to degree-level study.

Offer this qualification

Centres are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification content and delivery tools


Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management

Group award code: GR3K 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 21 mandatory units.

For further information on the structure and units of this qualifications please refer to the course tutor guide.

Course tutor guide (including course framework)

Unit Specifications


Hospitality Management GM5E 48

This group award has been replaced.

It entered its lapsing period on: 31/07/2020

It finishes on: 31/07/2024

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM5E 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 21 mandatory units.

Course tutor guide (including course framework)

For further information on the structure and units for this course please refer to the Course Tutor Guide - GM5E 48 (1.17 MB).

Unit Specifications