SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery

SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery (SCQF level 8) meets the employment needs of a broad range of hospitality businesses.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery covers areas including food hygiene, food classification and purchase, gastronomy, kitchen planning and design, operations and human resource management, accounting, and financial and control systems.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world.

Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery is suitable for a wide range of learners including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  •  individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business 


The SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery can provide advanced entry to degree-level study. For further information please refer to the SQA university agreements.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide

How to assess

Ongoing course assessment will apply. Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Graded Unit 2 takes the form of a case study where skills in gathering and interpreting information, analysing, decision-making and planning are developed.

Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Diploma in Professional Cookery

Group Award code: GM90 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the group award specification.


For further information on the structure see arrangements document GM90 48 (658 KB).

Unit specifications