SQA Advanced Diploma Administration and Information Technology (Fixed Framework)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Administration and Information Technology (SCQF level 8) provides learners with a progression route into employment. It also provides opportunities for further study, including university degree programmes.

This qualification covers the key areas of administration in the modern business environment. Learners will develop IT skills in word processing, spreadsheet, database and presentation software, as well as in the practical use of social media software and web applications for business purposes. Interpersonal skills and experience of research, planning and organising work are also covered, including delivering presentations effectively to an audience. The qualification also develops knowledge and application of legal and ethical issues in relation to the workplace and handling and management of data and information.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Administration and Information Technology is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world.

Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

SQA Advanced Diploma in Administration and Information Technology is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to QCF level 3 or SCQF level 6
  • a centre-devised test which shows the learner's ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


The SQA Advanced Diploma in Administration and Information Technology can provide advanced entry to degree-level study or a masters degree programme. For further information please refer to the SQA university agreements.

This SQA Advanced Diploma is designed to lead to employment within a number of sectors: finance, health care, hospitality, human resources (HR), information technology (IT), manufacturing, marketing, the public sector, retail and the voluntary/charity sector.

Offer this qualification

Centres that wish to come forward for approval should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM68 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Administration and Information Technology at SCQF level 8 consists of 25 units.

Course tutor guide (including course framework)

For further information please refer to the Course Tutor Guide - GM68 48

Unit Specifications

Guidance on updating units with tax content