HNC/HND Facilities Management

Higher National qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers. The HNC in Facilities Management (SCQF level 7) develops knowledge and skills of the modern Facilities Management industry including both 'hard' and 'soft' services. The HND in Facilities Management (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the HNC and also covers workforce development, risk management and business continuity.

The HNC qualification covers areas such as support services, managing stakeholder delivery, health and safety, sustainability, people management, project management, financial management, and facilities management strategy.

The HND qualification builds upon this with an additional focus on workforce development, risk management, business continuity, management accounting, information management, managing negotiations, managing relationships with suppliers and specialists, managing procurement and contracts and space management.

This qualification is available through colleges. Typically, an HNC takes one year to complete and an HND takes two years.

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry ¿ so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The Unit-based structure supports flexibility. A Unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional Units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HN provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

The HNC and HND Facilities Management are suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • any relevant Group Award at SCQF level 6
  • any two National Qualifications at SCQF level 6 together with three Standard Grade / National passes at SCQF Level 5
  • an SVQ at level 2 or 3 in a relevant area
  • relevant work experience

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.

Progression and employment

Learners who achieve an HNC Facilities Management can progress to the HND in Facilities Management (GP05 16).

HNCs and HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study. For example, the HNC in Facilities Management allows direct entry into the second year of most degree programmes, and the HND in Facilities Management allows direct entry to most third year programmes.

Higher National qualifications also provide the knowledge and understanding required for related Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs). For example:

  • SVQ Facilities Services at SCQF Level 5
  • SVQ Facilities Management SCQF Level 7

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

HNC Facilities Management

Group Award code: GM2A 15 (96 SCQF credit points)

HNC Facilities Management at SCQF level 7 consists of 12 mandatory Unit credits (96 SCQF credit points).

HND Facilities Management

Group Award code: GP05 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Facilities Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 25 mandatory Unit credits (200 SCQF credit points) and a number of optional Units (40 SCQF points).