SQA Advanced Certificate Events and SQA Advanced Diploma Events Management

SQA Advanced Certificate and SQA Advanced Diploma qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Events (SCQF level 7) develops knowledge in areas such as events planning, legislation, marketing, budgeting and funding.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Events Management (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the Advanced Certificate and also enhances skills in events planning, contemporary issues, sustainability, management, budgeting and funding, legislation, marketing and communication.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges, training providers and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Certificate takes one year to complete and an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates and SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units, which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

The SQA Advanced Certificate/Diploma provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Events and the Advanced Diploma in Events Management are suitable for a wide range of learners including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • a minimum of one SQA Higher (SCQF level 6) pass at grade C
  • an existing Advanced Certificate award
  • appropriate National Certificates at SCQF level 5 or 6
  • appropriate groupings of National units
  • an SVQ 2 or 3 in a relevant area
  • different combinations of relevant National Qualifications and Scottish Vocational Qualifications — equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable
  • relevant work experience
  • equivalent overseas qualifications which are relevant to the award
  • IELTS score of 5.5 (additional support may be provided — in addition the Workplace Communication in English Unit could be chosen by the candidate)


The SQA Advanced Certificate in Events can progress to the SQA Advanced Diploma in Events Management.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Events Management can provide advanced entry to degree-level study.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Certificate in Events

Group award code: GR03 47 (96 SCQF credit points)

SQA Advanced Certificate in Events at SCQF level 7 consists of 10 mandatory Units (80 SCQF credit points) and 2 optional units (16 SCQF credit points).

SQA Advanced Diploma in Events Management

Group award code: GR04 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Events Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 22 or 23 mandatory units (176 or 184 SCQF credit points, depending on which PR option has been chosen) and 7 or 8 optional units (56 or 64 SCQF points) to make up the required 30 SQA credits.

For further information on the structures and units of these qualifications please refer to the group award specification.

Group award specification

Unit Specifications