HND Media and Communication

HND Media and Communication

Higher National qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers. The HND in Media and Communication (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the HNC Media and Communication and also covers areas such as interpersonal and communication theory, promoting and pitching, interviewing skills, advanced writing for the media, and communication and social media; it also includes a practical project.

This qualification is available at some colleges in Scotland. Typically, an HND takes two years to complete.

Alternative assessment guidance 2021-22

For guidance on which approach suits your current circumstances please use the HNVQ assessment decision tree.

Enhanced HND Media and Communication alternative assessment approaches (198 KB)

Why deliver this qualification

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry ¿ so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure of these qualifications supports flexibility. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HND provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The HNC and HND Media and Communication are suitable for a wide range of learners including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business or work on a freelance basis


Learners should have achieved the HNC Media and Communication

Progression and employment

HNCs and HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study.

The HND Media and Communication allows direct entry to relevant third year degree programmes.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Trainers, assessors and internal verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements for each unit.

There are also Support Notes provided in each unit regarding delivery and assessment.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification Structure

HND Media and Communication

Group Award code: GR4D 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Media and Communication at SCQF level 8 consists of 13 mandatory units (120 SCQF credit points) and optional units amounting to 120 SCQF points.

HND Media and Communication mandatory units

4 code 2 code Unit title SQA credit SCQF credit points SCQF level
J2JR 34 Analysing and Delivering Complex Oral Presentations 1 8 7
J2HH 34 Editing and Proofreading Text 1 8 7
J2LD 34 Introduction to Working in the Creative Economy 1 8 7
J3J2 34 Law and the Media 1 8 7
J1NC 34 Research Skills 1 8 7
J1S4 34 Writing for the Media 1 8 7
J4DX 34 Graded Unit 1 1 8 7
J2JX 35 Applying Interpersonal and Communication Theory 1 8 8
J2JL 35 Promoting and Pitching 1 8 8
J3W5 35 Communication: Social Media Advanced 2 16 8
J3W3 35 Interviewing Skills 1 8 8
J1S3 35 Writing for the Media: Advanced 1 8 8
J4DY 35 Graded Unit 2 2 16 8

Group Award Specification

Previous version of qualification

G9C1 16 Creative Industries: Media and Communication

This group award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The finishing date for this qualification is 31 July 2024.

Centres should note that when a group award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • The group award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue.
  • The group award arrangement document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed from SQA website and archived.
  • No new centres may be approved to offer the group award.
  • Centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the group award during the defined lapsing period of three years (HNC) and four years (HND).