SVQ Network Construction Operations (Water) - Main Layer SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) in Network Construction Operations (Water) — Main Layer at SCQF level 5 covers the skills required by network construction engineers who work on the water distribution network.

Mandatory units in the qualification include maintaining a safe and secure working environment in utilities network construction; working in an efficient and effective way in the utilities sector; jointing materials by electrofusion processes on water networks; and locating and avoiding supply apparatus for utilities network construction.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). This SVQ is based on the NOS set and published by the sector skills council for the sector, Energy & Utility Skills.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Upon successful completion, learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace, which minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

The SVQ can be offered in either of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is intended for employees in the water industry.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

The majority of candidates' evidence for this SVQ must be generated from real work activities. This means that any candidate taking the SVQ in Network Construction Operations (Water) ¿ Main Layer at SCQF level 5 must be working in the water industry and carrying out network construction activities on a regular basis.


The SVQ in Network Construction Operations (Water) - Main Layer at SCQF level 5 could provide the opportunity to progress to other water-related SVQs at SCQF levels 5 and 6. Successful completion of the qualification could also open up more employment opportunities and career prospects in the sector.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ in Network Construction Operations (Water) - Main Layer at SCQF level 5 consists of 11 mandatory units. Candidates following the Main Layer (Distribution) route must complete an additional mandatory unit.

Group Award: GR7C 22

The qualification also includes a number of additional units. Candidates may complete any of the additional units; however, they do not contribute to the achievement of the full SVQ.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure (87 KB).

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Assessor's guidelines

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio

Modern Apprenticeships

This SVQ is included in the Water Industries Modern Apprenticeship. 

SQA also offer the following Core Skills components and other mandatory and optional qualifications included in the Apprenticeship framework:

Unit title SCQF 4
Core Skills: Communication F426 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42A 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42E 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42J 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42N 04