NPA Business with Information Technology

NPA Business with Information Technology

The National Progression Award (NPA) in Business with Information Technology at SCQF level 6 provides candidates with the fundamental business and information technology skills that they will need for employment and/or further study.

This NPA will develop candidates’ problem solving and information technology skills and enable them to be more confident in the use of software application packages for administrative and business purposes. It will also develop an awareness of issues facing organisations today.

This qualification is available through schools and colleges.

Why deliver this qualification

The NPA in Business with Information Technology at SCQF level 6 can be used to develop knowledge and understanding of specialist business areas such as marketing, customer care, economics, accounting and law.

The NPA could be offered in one of the following modes:

  • full-time (eg as a fast-track into full a NC or HN programme)
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning
  • infill into existing classes
  • evening provision

Who does this qualification suit

The NPA meets the needs of a wide client group because it develops a fundamental knowledge of business as well as relevant IT skills. For example:

  • candidates who are at school or who may have just left school
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for a long period of time
  • candidates who are currently in employment and wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • candidates who are looking to access HN programmes
  • employers who wish their employees to obtain short continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. However, it is recommended for candidates entering the level 6 award to have completed some ICT skills training at level 5. This may be through the achievement of relevant National Units or employment experience or completion of the NPA Business with IT at SCQF level 5.


The level 6 award could provide progression onto suitable HN Business or Administration and IT programmes — or appropriate Advanced Highers (eg Business Management and Administration).


Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact the Business Development Team for guidance in completing the combined CA1/SA1 form.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements as outlined in the guide to approval.

How to assess

Assessment of this award will be a combination of practical and knowledge assessments under closed- and open-book assessment conditions. It is recommended that centres refer to the assessment and Evidence Requirements for each Unit.

The delivery of the award is at the individual centre’s discretion. The award will be delivered over a 160 hour period which could be a mix of day time, evening or distance learning. It would be beneficial if centres delivered the mandatory Unit Business Enterprise before delivering the specialist business Unit in option Group A.

Assessment Support Packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification structure

National Progression Award (NPA) in Business with Information Technology at SCQF level 6  (251 KB)