PDA Managing Self and the Work of Others SCQF level 7

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Managing Self and the Work of Others at SCQF level 7 focuses on two of the main areas of managerial competence: managing yourself and managing others. The PDA enables candidates to develop and achieve the general competences which underpin all aspects of management.

This qualification is available through training providers, colleges and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered in the workplace with candidates generating the required evidence as part of their current management role.

This qualification is jointly certificated with the Chartered Management Institute (CMI).

The PDA in Leadership at SCQF level 8:

  • is nationally recognised
  • can be achieved at work
  • has no formal entry requirements
  • provides recognition of managing self and others
  • enables progression within the Management SVQ framework
  • enhances career prospects

Candidate support packs are available for the knowledge requirements of the two units in this qualification.

The unit-based structure aids flexibility, with candidates generating the required evidence naturally through their current management job role.

This PDA provides progression routes to further study, training and professional qualifications (see Progression).

SQA and CMI have joined forces to help build careers in Management. CMI now offers one year free studying membership for those undertaking an SQA generic Management qualification. For further information please visit: http://www.managers.org.uk/sqa.

The main target audience for the PDA in Managing Self and the Work of Others at SCQF level 7 is those currently employed in management posts, usually at first-line or middle management levels.

The PDA consists of SVQ units, which are workplace units. To be eligible for these units, candidates must have current occupational experience in a management role and be able to generate the relevant evidence.


Whilst entry to the PDA in Managing Self and the Work of Others at SCQF level 7 is at the discretion of the centre, eligible managers should have current experience in a managerial role that will enable them to demonstrate the competences of the two units in this PDA.

The PDAs in Management are made up of SVQ Management units. In line with the Assessment Strategy developed for SVQs in Management, access to the PDAs in Management is open only to those who currently occupy a management role that enables them to display competence at the level of the standards which make up the award. The nature and level of the management role may vary depending on the level of PDA involved.

Candidates can progress to other PDAs in Management covering topics such as Leadership at SCQF level 8. They could also progress to an SVQ in Management at SCQF level 7 or SCQF level SCQF level 9 (depending on their management job role).

Candidates achieving this PDA are also eligible for studying membership of CMI, which means that they can become part of the professional community of managers and can benefit from development opportunities that this can bring.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Assessment Strategy for PDAs in Leadership and Management.

Candidates gather evidence of their performance through normal workplace activity, in line with the requirements of the PDA. This evidence will be assessed using usual workplace assessment methods, such as use of portfolios/e-portfolios; observation; examining of work products; testimonial evidence from witnesses; personal statements; accreditation of prior learning, etc.

Group Award code: GM72 47 (20 SCQF credit points)

The PDA in Managing Self and the Work of Others at SCQF level 7 consists of 2 mandatory units:

  • Develop Your Knowledge Skills and Competence
  • Manage People's Performance at Work