NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety

NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety

The National Progression Award (NPA) Introduction to Spectator Safety is an introductory stewarding qualification. It develops the vocational knowledge and understanding needed to work in the spectator safety industry, together with the generic transferrable skills which are valued by the sector.

NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety gives learners the opportunity to experience the requirements of the spectator safety sector in an environment that is realistic but supported.

It is available through colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

There is an increasing demand for occupationally competent stewards due to the popularity of professional sporting events, both indoor and outdoor. This qualification is ideally suited for people involved with the 2014 Commonwealth Games which are being held in Glasgow.

NPAs are trusted because they are developed by practitioners from industry and are supported by the relevant sector skills council (SSC). Industry has recognised that the qualification fits the job.

The delivery of the award is at the discretion of the centre. It can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time 
  • part-time (eg block release, day-release)
  • combination of delivery
  • evening provision

This NPA is designed to articulate with SVQ Level 2 Spectator Safety.

Who does this qualification suit

The NPA is suitable for:

  • school leavers who wish to learn more about a career in the spectator industry
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for a period of time and wish to seek employment in the spectator safety sector
  • self-employed people
  • individuals who are currently in employment and wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employers who wish their employees to obtain short continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. However, candidates should ideally have an interest in working within the spectator safety industry as stewards. Candidates may also benefit from previous relevant work experience.


The NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety could provide progression to the SVQ Level 2 Spectator Safety.

The majority of candidates who will study the NPA will be aged 16 years of age and above. However, if a candidate wishes to continue and undertake the SVQ Spectator Safety then they must be over 18 years of age for insurance purposes and other legal implications.

It is envisaged that candidates completing this NPA will go on to complete the SVQ Spectator Safety at Level 2 and may go on to full-time or part-time employment.

For more information on the SVQ Spectator Safety.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

The NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety at SCQF level 5 is designed to be assessed in the workplace or in conditions that represent a realistic working environment. For example, football stadiums, events venues (eg SECC), or other sport venues.

The qualification will be assessed by observation, projects, written/oral diaries and post-event feedback sessions. The skills developed will have a practical focus.

Assessment Support Packs are available for all Units. These provide guidance on content, context, evidence required and written questions which clearly exemplify the standards.   

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification structure

Group Award code: GF6W 45
SCQF level: 5

NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety at SCQF level 5 arrangements (115 KB)

The NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety at SCQF level 5 consists of three mandatory Units:

  • H1N2 11: Identify Hazards and Risks in Stewarding Area
  • H1N3 11: Plan, Complete and Conclude Stewarding Activities
  • H1N4 11: Roles and Responsibilities of Stewarding


SkillsActive is the Sector Skills Council for active leisure and learning.