SVQ Port Operations SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) Port Operations SCQF level 5 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

It provides a wide range of options from berthing vessels, to moving containers using shore-based lifting equipment, to resolving customer service problems.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. This SVQ has been designed in conjunction with Port Skills and Safety to ensure relevance to the sector.

It is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards (NOS) are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

Employers will benefit from their employees being proficient.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace, minimising time learners need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including SVQ Supervision of Port Operations Level 3 or to general management qualifications.

The SVQ can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Awards Code: GJ6V 22

The SVQ Port Operations SCQF level 5 consists of two mandatory Units, two Units from Group A, up to four Units from Group B and five Units from the optional Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure (101 KB).

National Occupational Standards

Centres using these units should also refer to the full National Occupational Standards for information relating to the overview and scope. This information is available on the Port Skills and Safety website.

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Assessor's guidelines

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio