SVQs in Performing Engineering Operations at SCQF levels 4 and 5

SVQs in Performing Engineering Operations at SCQF levels 4 and 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) in Performing Engineering Operations allow candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise. The qualifications are based on the National Occupational Standards (NOS) set and published by Semta, the sector skills council for the sector.

The SVQ at SCQF level 4 covers areas such as working efficiently and effectively in engineering and carrying out routine servicing of mechanical equipment.

The SVQ at SCQF level 5 covers areas such as complying with statutory regulations and organisational safety requirements, maintaining electrical equipment/systems, and wiring and testing electrical equipment and circuits.

These qualifications are available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Candidates will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time candidates would need to be away from their work.

The SVQ can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employees who wish to obtain short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence.


The qualifications could provide progression to:

  • SVQ in Performing Engineering Operations at SCQF level 5 (if completing the SVQ at SCQF level 4)
  • SVQ in Fabrication and Welding Engineering at SCQF level 6
  • HNC Engineering qualifications
  • employment in the engineering or manufacturing sector


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs.

For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the assessment strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GM0V 21

The SVQ in Performing Engineering Operations at SCQF level 4 consists of three mandatory units and two optional units.

Group award code: GL6E 22

The SVQ in Performing Engineering Operations at SCQF level 5 consists of three mandatory units and five optional units. Optional units may be chosen from Group A and/or Group B.

Optional units selected from Group B must be delivered and assessed in the learner’s place of work (ie not in a sheltered/realistic environment).

For details of the units making up these SVQs, please refer to the qualification structure documents.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Modern Apprenticeships

The SVQ at SCQF level 5 is a mandatory component in the Level 3 Engineering Modern Apprenticeship.

SQA also offers the following components of this Apprenticeship:

Code Title
GL6F 23 SVQ in Fabrication and Welding Engineering at SCQF level 6
G9XJ 23 SVQ in Business Improvement Techniques (Process Improvement) at SCQF level 6
G9XF 23 SVQ in Business Improvement Techniques (Quality Improvement) at SCQF level 6

Full list of HNs and NCs included in the Engineering Modern Apprenticeship.

Unit title Code
Core Skills: Communication F427 04
Core Skills: Numeracy F42B 04
Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology F42F 04
Core Skills: Problem Solving F42K 04
Core Skills: Working with Others F42P 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Useful links

SEMTA logo

mappIT logo Skills Development Scotland Logo