Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems

Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) 3 Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems at SCQF level 6 is based on industry standards. It provides learners with the skills that they will need for employment and/or further study in this highly specialised niche sector — installing and maintaining electronic fire and security systems. Other areas covered are health and safety, communication and team working.

This qualification is available through colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

The SVQ 3 in Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems at SCQF level 6 is a revised course designed to meet the current and emerging needs of the security systems sector, particularly in relation to the use of new technologies.

This SVQ has been designed in consultation with employers and is based on standards set by industry. It provides formalised and standardised training for this highly specialised sector.

The SVQ can be offered in the following mode:

  • part-time (eg day-release)


Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • people who wish to start their own business
  • individuals working in the security industry


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Formal qualifications in Security Systems at SCQF level 6 are required to undertake this qualification.

Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • PDA in Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems (SCQF level 6)
  • PDA in Security Systems


The level 6 award could provide progression to:

  • employment in the security systems sector


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs.   For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GG9K 23

The SVQ3 Providing Electronic Fire and Security Systems at SCQF level 6 consists of 11 mandatory Units and two optional Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure (74 KB)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skills - Level 3 Electronic Security (50 KB)

Modern Apprenticeships

The Level 3 Modern Apprenticeship in Security Systems is currently under review.
However, it would be expected that this SVQ would be a mandatory component.

SQA also offers the following components of this Apprenticeship.

Unit title


Core Skills: Communication

F427 04

Core Skills: Numeracy

F42B 04

Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology

F42F 04

Core Skills: Problem Solving

F42K 04

Core Skills: Working with Others

F42P 04

Useful links

mappIT logo Skills Development Scotland Logo