Certificate in Archaeological Practice

Certificate in Archaeological Practice

The NVQ Certificate in Archaeological Practice at QCF level 3 will develop knowledge and skills in areas such as archaeological processes, developing resources, and health and safety.

This qualification covers researching and analysing information to achieve objectives in archaeological operations; contributing to health and safety when conducting archaeological operations; understanding how to develop your own resources; and protecting the interests of others in archaeological operations.

This qualification is available through approved centres.

Purpose and Recognition

Why deliver this qualification

This qualification offers centres flexibility and choice because of the comprehensive range of optional Units.

Learners can progress to a range of courses at a higher level including Diploma in Cultural Heritage at Level 5, allowing centres to retain or build student numbers.

This Certificate in Archaeological Practice at QCF level 3 can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning
  • infill into existing classes
  • evening provision

Who does this qualification suit

This qualification is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • people in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • individuals who wish to start their own business


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre.


Learners who have achieved the Certificate can progress to job roles relating to their chosen pathways.

They can also do further qualifications to build on their skills, such as a Foundation degree, HNC/D or a degree.


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

Ongoing course assessment will apply. Each Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for the Unit.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification Structure

The NVQ Certificate in Archaeological Practice at QCF level 3 requires the learner to achieve a minimum of 22 credits by completing the four Mandatory Units (14 credits) plus a minimum of 8 credits from the Optional Units.

Group Award code: GK16 67 (22 QCF credit points)

Ofqual Qualification Code: 601/4925/5

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance

Unit and Assessment Specifications and Assessment Guidance for these qualifications are available on SQA's Secure website. These are available from your centre's SQA co-ordinator. For further information, please contact mycentre@sqa.org.uk

Assessment Strategy

Creative and Cultural Skills Assessment Principles (234 KB)