SVQ Museums and Galleries Practice SCQF level 7

The Scottish Vocational Qualification in Museums and Galleries Practice at SCQF level 7 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification will develop understanding of the museums and galleries sector and the wider creative and cultural context. It includes assisting customers, visitors or audiences in getting the best from their experience of a creative and cultural organisation, providing specific information on a collection for a cultural heritage organisation, and contributing to the care of items within a cultural venue. In addition, candidates will learn to take responsibility for their own work and professional development through planning and self-evaluating.

This qualification has been designed in partnership with the Creative and Cultural Skills sector skills council. It is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards (NOS) are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This SVQ is offered in the workplace. As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including SVQ 4 Management.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • individuals who are currently employed in a cultural venue or museum/gallery


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow them to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience in/knowledge of subject would be an advantage.


The SVQ 3 in Museums and Galleries Practice at SCQF level 7 could provide progression to:

  • further or higher education courses, resulting in degree, diploma or other qualifications
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in a creative organisation within the sector


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ 3 in Museums and Galleries Practice at SCQF level 7 consists of six mandatory Units and three optional Units.

Group Award Code:  GK5K 23

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Useful links