SQA Advanced Certificate/Diploma Marine Engineering

The SQA Advanced Certificate and SQA Advanced Diploma in Marine Engineering provide skills and knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

The SQA Advanced Certificate (SCQF level 7) develops knowledge and skills in areas such as propulsion, auxiliary systems, stability and structure of merchant ships, electro-technology, mechanical principles, and thermodynamics.

The SQA Advanced Diploma (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the SQA Advanced Certificate and covers legislation and leadership, management, strength of materials, applied mechanics, heat engine principles, naval architecture, ship construction and survey, electrical distribution systems, electrical power, process control, pneumatics, and hydraulic systems.

These qualifications are available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Certificate takes one year to complete and an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates and Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

The SQA Advanced Certificate and SQA Advanced Diploma provide progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate and Diploma are suitable for a wide range of learners including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • learners in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects 


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • a National Certificate in Ship and Marine Operations (with Marine Engineering options) at SCQF level 6
  • at least two Higher level (SCQF level 6) passes of which one should be Mathematics or a physical science — learners should have National 5 English (SCQF level 5) or above
  • relevant work experience

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.


Learners who complete the SQA Advanced Diploma may progress to degree-level qualifications such as:

  • BEng in Marine Engineering
  • BEng in Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

For further information please refer to SQA's progression partners.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Certificate in Marine Engineering at SCQF level 7

Group award code: GN1Y 47 (96 SCQF credit points)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Marine Engineering at SCQF level 8

Group award code: GN20 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

Group award specification

For further information please refer to the group award specification - GN1Y47 and GN2048.

Unit Specifications