Certificate Business and Administration SCQF level 6

Certificate Business and Administration SCQF level 6

The Certificate in Business and Administration is designed to equip those working in business and administration with the skills and knowledge they need to demonstrate competence in their job role. At SCQF level 6, candidates are likely to be working on a broad range of activities with significant complexity, responsibility and autonomy, often in a supervisory or team-leading role.

Mandatory units cover managing workload, communicating and planning, and improving own performance in a business environment.

The wide range of optional units includes work responsibilities, document production and design, managing events, customer service, managing business resources, and managing information and data.

Why deliver this qualification

Successful candidates gain an internationally-recognised qualification which demonstrates that they have the skills, knowledge and behaviours required to carry out their role successfully. Employers benefit from competent and motivated staff.

The Certificate in Business and Administration is assessed in the workplace. This minimises the time candidates require outside the workplace to complete the qualification.

Who does this qualification suit

Certificate in Business and Administration at SCQF level 6 is designed for people at various levels within business organisations and is therefore appropriate to many job roles, from junior administrators through to office managers.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. This is a work-based qualification, so candidates should be in a job role that allows them to provide the required evidence in a working environment.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience in and/or knowledge of the subject would be an advantage.


There is some overlap of units between the different levels in Business and Administration — helping candidates to progress to a higher-level as their job role develops or changes.

The SCQF level 6 certificate could provide progression to:

  • the SCQF level 8 Diploma in Business and Administration
  • an HNC/HND in Administration and IT, Business or other related area
  • a PDA in a Business related subject


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Assessment is through performance in the workplace. Most assessment will be based on performance evidence, that is observation (in person, video recordings) and work products generated by the candidate (word-processed documents, letters, spreadsheets, travel/accommodation bookings, receipts, email correspondence, database reports, graphic elements, etc). The specific evidence produced will depend on the choice of optional units.

Holistic assessment is encouraged — gathering evidence towards more than one unit in the same assessment occasion.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The Certificate in Business and Administration at SCQF level 6 consists of three mandatory units and five optional units.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Assessor's guidelines

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio

Frequently Asked Questions