HND Professional Cookery with Management

Higher National Qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers.

The HND in Professional Cookery with Management (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the HNC Professional Cookery and covers managing food and beverage operations, managing human resources, gastronomy, and kitchen planning and design. It also includes a period of practical work experience.

This qualification is available through colleges. Typically, an HND takes two years to complete.

Centre and Student Surveys

We are inviting centre staff and students to take part in short surveys to share feedback on the HN Professional Cookery qualifications:

Centre Survey: Professional Cookery Qualifications

Student Survey: HN Professional Cookery

The surveys will be available until 28 April 2024.  The information you provide will help us review and evaluate these qualifications, allowing us to ensure they remain relevant to future needs.

This subject will not have alternative assessment guidance for session 2023-24. You should refer to the Group Award/Unit specifications for detailed delivery and assessment information. For general support on delivery and assessment see the HNVQ assessment guidance 2023-24.

Higher National Qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry - so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexibility. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HN provides progression routes to further study and/or employment.

The HND Professional Cookery with Management is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • appropriate groupings of National Units
  • an SVQ at SCQF level 5 or 6 in a relevant area
  • relevant work experience

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.

Progression and employment

Higher National Qualifications also provide the knowledge and understanding required for related Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs), for example, SVQ in Professional Cookery

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres interested in offering this qualification require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide

The specific delivery requirements are set out in the Group Award Specification. Please also see our Professional Cookery information sheet (113 KB) for detailed guidance on approval requirements.


Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Qualification content and delivery tools


HND Professional Cookery with Management

Group award code: GR1W 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Professional Cookery with Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 12 mandatory units (160 SCQF credit points) and a number of optional units (80 SCQF points).


This group award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The finishing date for this qualification is 31 July 2024.

Centres should note that when a group award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • The group award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue.
  • The group award arrangements document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed from SQA's website and archived.
  • No new centres may be approved to offer the group award.
  • Centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the group award during the defined lapsing period of three years (HNC) and four years (HND).

HND Professional Cookery (GF4T 16) (823 KB) (Version 19, July 2018)

Qualification Verification Summary Reports were formerly known as Internal Assessment Reports.

For candidates where English is not their first language it is recommended that they possess English for Speakers of other Languages (ESOL) level 5 or a score of 5.5 in IELTS.