Diploma Port Operations SCQF level 5

The Diploma in Port Operations at SCQF level 5 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification provides a wide range of options from berthing vessels, to moving containers using shore-based lifting equipment, to resolving customer service problems.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Successful candidates gain an internationally-recognised qualification which demonstrates that they have the skills, knowledge and behaviours required to carry out their role successfully. Employers benefit from competent and motivated staff.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace, minimising the time learners need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications, including Diploma in Supervision of Port Operations at SCQF level 6 or to general management qualifications.

This Diploma can be offered in either of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)

Who does this qualification suit

This Diploma is suitable for

  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.


The SCQF level 5 Diploma could provide progression to:

  • Diploma in Port Operations at SCQF level 6


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Award Code: GR2E 45

The Diploma in Port Operations at SCQF level 5 consists of two mandatory units, two units from Group A, up to four units from Group B and five units from the optional units.

For details of the units making up this Award, please refer to the Qualification Structure (48 KB)

Unit Search

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material