Diploma Supervision Port Operations SCQF level 6

The Diploma in Supervision of Port Operations at SCQF Level 6 allows candidates to demonstrate competence across a wide range of port operations.

The options available range from developing procedures to controlling risks to health, safety and security in ports, to ensuring the operational readiness of a port terminal, to co-ordinating and controlling vessel berthing operations.

It is available through employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

Successful candidates gain an internationally-recognised qualification which demonstrates that they have the skills, knowledge and behaviours required to carry out their role successfully. Employers benefit from competent and motivated staff.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace, minimising the time learners need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of general management qualifications.

This diploma can be offered in either of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)

Who does this qualification suit

This diploma is suitable for:

  • people in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • people who are responsible for supervising the operational activities associated with the transfer of cargo and passengers between the vessel and cargo storage area/passenger terminal


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they carry out relevant tasks and responsibilities that allow them to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience or knowledge of port operations would be an advantage.


The SCQF Level 6 diploma could provide progression to:


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Awards Code: GR2F 46

The Diploma in Supervision of Port Operations at SCQF level 6 consists of three mandatory units, up to three units from Group A, up to three units from Group B, and up to four units from Group C.

For details of the units making up this Award, please refer to the Qualification Structure (112 KB)

Unit Search

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material