HNC Wildlife and Conservation Management

Higher National qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers. The HNC in Wildlife and Conservation Management (SCQF level 7) develops knowledge and skills in areas such as biodiversity conservation, species and habitat identification, visitor management and land use.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some universities. Typically, an HNC takes one year to complete.

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexibility. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HN provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

The HNC Wildlife and Conservation Management is suitable for a wide range of learners, including:

¨       school leavers

¨       adult returners to education

¨       individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects

people who wish to start their own business.

Progression and employment

Learners who achieve an HNC Wildlife and Conservation Management can progress to the HND in Wildlife and Conservation Management (GR7N 16).

HNCs and HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study. For example, the HNC in Wildlife and Conservation Management allows direct entry into the second year of most related degree programmes, and the HND in Wildlife and Conservation Management allows direct entry to the third year of related programmes.

Higher National qualifications also provide the knowledge and understanding required for related Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs), for example:

  • SVQs in Environmental Conservation

What you'll learn?

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • One Higher level pass at SCQF level 6.
  • An appropriate group of National Units at SCQF level 5/6. These might include, for example, Trees in the Environment, Investigating Animal Wildlife, Wildlife Conservation 1 and The Physical Landscape of Scotland among others.
  • An appropriate vocational qualification, which might include an SVQ at level 3 in a relevant subject.

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will need to come forward for approval and should contact SQA¿s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Group Award code: GR7L 15 (96 SCQF credit points)

HNC Wildlife and Conservation Management at SCQF level 7 consists of 6 mandatory units (48 SCQF credit points) and 6 optional units (48 SCQF credit points).